Skip to content

I Asked the Lord

July 11, 2011

John Newton asked God for growth in faith, grace, and love. Here is his poem describing what happened:

I asked the Lord that I might grow  

In faith and love and every grace

Might more of His salvation know

And seek more earnestly His face

 

Twas He who taught me thus to pray

And He I trust has answered prayer

But it has been in such a way

As almost drove me to despair

 

I hoped that in some favored hour

At once He’d answer my request

And by His love’s constraining power

Subdue my sins and give me rest

 

Instead of this He made me feel

The hidden evils of my heart

And let the angry powers of Hell

Assault my soul in every part

 

Yea more with His own hand He seemed

Intent to aggravate my woe

Crossed all the fair designs I schemed,

Cast out my feelings, laid me low

 

Lord why is this, I trembling cried

Wilt Thou pursue thy worm to death?

“Tis in this way” The Lord replied

“I answer prayer for grace and faith”

 

“These inward trials I employ

From self and pride to set thee free

And break thy schemes of earthly joy

That thou mayest seek thy all in me,

That thou mayest seek thy all in me.”

HT: Tim Challies at challies.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

