Skip to content

The Greener Grass Conspiracy

April 25, 2011

Recently I was asked to review a book called The Greener Grass Conspiracy: Finding Contentment on Your Side of the Fence. Here is a trailer introducing the book:

Here is my review:

We all want it badly. And yet contentment constantly eludes us, despite our frantic pursuit, best efforts, and an abundance of good things and experiences. Because contentment is such a strong desire in the human heart, it is worthy of serious thought. Stephen Altrogge, pastor at Sovereign Grace Church of Indiana, Pennsylvania, tackles the issue of finding contentment in his new work, The Greener Grass Conspiracy, published by Crossway.

The author is young, in his late twenties, so I was a bit skeptical when I began the book. However, much to my delight, I quickly discovered that it is packed with solid biblical wisdom. Altrogge skillfully and wisely exposes our deep-seated obstacles to being content as well as the God-centered path towards being satisfied. The book moves from the problem of discontentment to the joy and rest of contentedness in Christ.

The Greener Grass Conspiracy is solid without being stodgy. It has been my pleasure to be a follower of the author on Twitter, so I am aware of his . . . um . . . unique sense of humor! I was glad to find that he incorporates that humor in his writing, giving the book an easy to read style.

My only complaint about the book is that it is not longer! This is the kind of book that is both enjoyable and edifying. I highly recommend this to any and all who hunger after contentment.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

