Skip to content

Love Shed Abroad

June 5, 2010
Gracious God,
My heart praises thee for the wonder of thy love in Jesus;
He is heaven’s darling, but is for me
the incarnate, despised, rejected,
crucified sin-bearer;
In him thy grace has almost out-grace itself,
In him thy love to rebels has reached its height;
O to love thee with a love like this!
My heart is stone, melt it with thy love.
My heart is locked, let thy love be the master key to open it;
O Father, I adore thee for thy great love in the gift of Jesus,
O Jesus, I bless thee for resigning thy life for me,
O Holy Spirit, I thank thee for revealing to me this mystery;
Great God, let thy Son see in me the travail of his soul!
Bring me away from my false trusts to rest in him, and him only.
– “Love Shed Abroad,” The Valley of Vision, pp. 252-3.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

